The son of Ascanius, is said to have been so called because he was born in a wood. All the succeeding kings of Alba bore the cognomen Silvius. The series of these mythical kings is given somewhat differently by Livy, Ovid, and Dionysius, as the following list will show (Liv. i. 3; Ov. Met. xiv. 609, &c.; Dionys. i. 70, 71).

1. Aeneas Aeneas Aeneas
2. Ascanius Ascanius Ascanius
3. Silvius Silvius Silvius
4. Aeneas Silvius   Aeneas Silvius
5. Latinus Silvius Latinus Latinus Silvius
6. Alba Alba Alba
7. Atys Epytus Capetus
8. Capys Capys Capys Silvius
9. Capetus Capetus Calpetus
10. Tiberinus Tiberinus Tiberinus
11. Agrippa Remulus Agrippa
12. Romulus Silvius Acrota Alladius
13. Aventinus Aventinus Aventinus
14. Proca Palatinus Procas
15. Amulius Amulius Amulius